Zumba and Temptations

I tried Zumba for the first time today and I am worn out.  For those who may not know, Zumba is a dance-fitness program that mixes upbeat music and choreographed dance moves to create a full body workout.  For more information, check out their website here.  I had heard a lot about Zumba, but was hesitant to try it because I am not in any way blessed with rhythm and I did not want to make a fool of myself in a Zumba class.  However, I wanted to find a good workout I could do at home so I decided to search for a Zumba video online.  I found one for beginners and began the workout… I only made it through 20 minutes.  During the first half, I did not even feel like I was working out, but that last ten minutes was hard!  I quit before the video was over but since I haven’t worked out in months, I think 20 minutes is better than nothing.  I think I will continue working at it until I can do a full hour of Zumba and then maybe I will up for going to a class.  

Yesterday was not the easiest of day for me.  I stayed on plan with my food for the most part so that was ok, but I had many temptations and cravings.  At breakfast, my kids wanted French toast so I made them some.  Of course, that made me want French toast but I fought the cravings and ate eggs instead.  Then I realized I am sick of eggs already since I have had them every day for a week now.  Luckily, in my collection of old cookbooks I have one that is entirely devoted to eggs and all the ways of preparing them.  Looking through that helped me realize that I just need to change how I am fixing eggs and try something new.

After breakfast, I started baking.  I am always the person who brings the baked goods to family functions and with Christmas fast approaching I needed to bake 12 dozen cookies.  Let me say that baking cookies that you cannot eat is not fun.  I won’t lie, I did end up eating a chocolate-filled peanut butter cookie.  One cookie out of 12 dozen felt like an accomplishment to me since I normally eat way more than one.

The other craving I faced was for sweet tea.  I come from a family who loves their sweet tea, the sweeter the better.  A gallon of tea around here usually has between a cup and a half to two cups of sugar, so there is no way I am drinking that anymore.  I knew that tea with Splenda would not do the trick so I just did the best I could at ignoring the craving, added some lemon to my water for a change in taste, and eventually I quit thinking about tea.

Today, I am doing well.  I think the extreme hunger that I was dealing with is subsiding, as I did not wake up ready to eat everything in sight.  Actually, I was not hungry at all this morning and am just now getting hungry after having been up for four and a half hours.  Even though I was not hungry this morning, I did make myself eat a handful almonds and frozen blueberries since I was going to work out.  Hopefully this lack of hunger is going to stick around and doesn’t end up being a one-time deal.

4 thoughts on “Zumba and Temptations

  1. Just keep going with things. It is a little difficult at first, but it does get easier and close to second nature. You’ve demonstrated willpower when you chose the eggs over the French toast (my personal favorite) and that says a lot. I can relate to you with the cookies, it’s not fun, but the two I had when I baked my batches helped a great deal. You handled it properly then and now. You could easily be beating yourself up, but you’re not. Keep that self-love up. As for the breakfasts, I’d just suggest doing a lot of research on low-carb breakfasts and making those. You seem to be showing signs of boredom with the eggs which isn’t good. Boredom is the silent killer…believe me. Anyway, great post. Keep it up! 🙂

    • Thanks, Carolina! I don’t want something as simple as boredom with a food choice to sabotage my efforts so I will definitely look into other low-carb breakfasts. Thanks for the suggestion.

  2. What Carolina said! Also, I’d add being prepared. I try to cook a bunch of low carb stuff on Sundays, and that way there is always something that is low carb and ready (frozen). I’m a bacon guy, and I love having it in the morning. Sausages are good too. The first 7 to 14 days will be the hardest, but you have to believe that it WILL get better after that. First step is fighting to break the sugar/carb dependency. We’ll keep an eye on you and keep you on the straight and narrow!

    🙂

    • Thanks, Rob. I already take a couple days a month to cook and freeze a bunch of things for my husband and children, so it only makes sense that I use this technique for myself as well.

Leave a Reply

