Week 1 Weigh-In

     I made it through my first week!  This morning I stepped on the scale and found out I had lost 4 lbs.  Since I was starting the week of Christmas, I only expected to lose 3-5 lbs. so I am happy with my results.  I am sure I could have had a higher number if I had stayed on my low-carb plan during my Christmas festivities, but in the past I always gave up when I felt deprived, so I chose to handle the holiday by not eating low-carb and instead I just practiced portion control.  I think this worked well for me because I got to enjoy what everyone else was eating and did not feel that I was missing out.  

     Today starts week 2 for me and I am looking forward to continuing this low-carb lifestyle.  I usually give up within a couple days of starting a new WOE, so it is pretty exciting that I am starting week 2.   Even my husband noticed I haven’t given up and he promised me a $1,000 shopping trip for new clothes when I reach my end goal.  I am losing weight for myself and would continue without an end prize, but that shopping trip does make things a little more enticing.  

     This week I am going to continue to focus on eating low-carb and drinking plenty of water, but I am also going to start working out.  Last week I only worked out once, which is more than I normally do but I want to up that number to at least four times.  I think four times a week is good for now and is attainable, so I will be working on that this week.  However, I am new to working out and at the moment I do not have a gym membership.  We are moving in a week so I do not have the time or money to go buy home work out equipment or DVDs, so if any of you have some good tips for working at home without any equipment please let me know in the comments.  Any tips would be helpful!

5 thoughts on “Week 1 Weigh-In

  1. I may have entered this twice, so please delete if necessary! Your progress is fantastic. Keep doing what you’re doing. Carolina has some good tips on her recent post, especially adding a little bit more time to your workout as you go along. The thousand dollar bonus is really nice too!

  2. Good job! That is a GREAT number. You’re obviously doing something right so keep that up. That first week is one of the hardest just because your head is fighting with you every second. You overcame that so be proud.

    I don’t know if you read it in one of my previous posts, but I’m not a member of any gym as of this moment. That means I have to do all my exercising at home or outside. I’m in the northeast and the latter is not exactly friendly at this time. I made a post a couple of weeks ago where I list several exercises for different capabilities, living arrangements, and/or interests. Here’s the link:
    http://newfoundfitness.wordpress.com/2013/12/09/winter-fitness/#more-104 I hope it helps. And as Rob mentioned, I do recommend starting off slow with the exercising and increasing weekly. It gave me something to look forward to each week and prevented me from over-exerting myself.

    Anyway, just keep going with it. You got this! 🙂

    • Thanks, Carolina! I am proud of my four lbs., especially since it happened during a holiday week. Also, thanks for the link, I will make sure to check it out tonight since I plan to work out again in the morning.

Leave a Reply

