Week 3 Weigh-In and Thoughts on Giving Up

     Today was weigh-in day and it did not go as badly as I thought it would.  Because of the lack of planning I faced at the end of week two and start of week three, I really expected to gain back all four pounds I had lost in week 1 plus a few more pounds.  Instead, I gained back three of the four I lost, bringing me to a grand total of losing 1 pound in three weeks.  Of course, I do not like this number at all, but I made up my mind before I weighed in that whatever the results were I was going to accept and move on.  So that is what I am doing, I am looking at weeks 2 and 3 as a stumble in what will be a much larger journey and am looking to week 4 to get back in gear.  

     I know that some people would see that three-pound gain so early in this journey and say that this new WOE is not working or that it shows they cannot stick to it.  I know this because I used to be that person.  If I saw even a one pound gain on the scale I would get discouraged and it would eventually result in my giving up.  I am the type of person who tries to do things perfectly even though I know that is an impossible standard to meet and if I see that things are going wrong, I tend to give up.  I have done this on countless diets, projects, and even with my schoolwork (finishing up with my degree this year!).  Because I am aware that I do this, I am finding ways to overcome it and one way I am doing that is to look at the larger picture.  If I looked at my weight gain this week as only a weight gain, it would become very discouraging; instead, I am choosing to see that while I did gain a few pounds back I also gained an understanding of the importance of planning my meals.  I may have stumbled with the numbers of it all, but I am learning important information that will help me succeed in the long run.  That is more important than those three pounds so this time around I am not giving up.  

     This week I will be putting a lot more focus on eating the right foods, staying hydrated, and getting plenty of exercise.  I am also going to plan my week’s meals and a list of healthy snacks to post on my refrigerator door so that I am prepared for the week. 

6 thoughts on “Week 3 Weigh-In and Thoughts on Giving Up

    • That’s what I am doing, putting it behind me. I would probably have been a little more upset if it had happened on a week when I thought everything was going well, but this time I knew it was coming so I was prepared for it.

  1. I’m so proud of you. You are focusing on the positive and LEARNING from your mistake. On top of that, you’re combating your former self by being aware of the things you normally do and changing them. That’s a victory right there.

    Do the things you have to do and move forward. That is all you can do. Eventually it will pay off for you. Good job!

  2. Ok, your title got me…. I took it to mean you were planning to give up….
    Than I read the whole thing and you were only mentioning why you had given up in the past…
    Just want to say, please do not give up — especially because what a scale says. I know it’s tough to work hard, follow the plan to the letter and — scale says — “nope no loss”… but by hanging in following your program; the results will start to show.
    So good luck and keep on keeping on……….

Leave a Reply

