Skillet Bierocks Recipe

     If you have never had bierocks, you are missing out.  They are little pockets of flaky, biscuit-like dough filled with a tasty mixture of cabbage and ground sausage and baked until golden brown.  My father-in-law makes bierocks for family gatherings and I love them, but being on a low carb diet means they are not something I can eat because of all the bread.  Last week, I decided to make a sort of “deconstructed” bierocks so that I could get the flavor of this dish without all the carbs.  I ended up making the filling of the bierocks in a skillet and serving biscuits on the side for my husband and children since they aren’t worried about carbs.  We really liked this dish so I thought I would share the recipe.  

 

Skillet Bierocks

Ingredients:

1 lb. ground pork sausage

4 cups green cabbage, chopped 

3 Tbsp. butter

2 tsp. onion powder

1 Tbsp. garlic, minced

1 Tbsp. onion, minced

 

Preparation:

  1. In a large skillet over medium heat, brown pork sausage until fully cooked.  Drian and transfer sausage to a separate bowl and set to the side.
  2. Melt the butter in the same skillet.  Once butter is melted, add onion and garlic to the skillet and cook until just translucent.
  3. Add the cabbage to the skillet, sprinkle with the onion powder, and stir until everything is mixed and coated in melted butter.
  4. Cook the cabbage until it is tender and golden brown, stirring rarely to promote browning. 
  5. When the cabbage is golden brown, add the sausage back into the skillet and stir everything together.
  6. Let everything cook together for a few minutes, stirring often.
  7. Serve alone or with a side of biscuits.

 

    This recipe is pretty adaptable to individual tastes, spicy or mild sausage can be used, beef could be substituted for pork, more veggies can be added, or it can be topped with cheese.  

 

Image

 

6 thoughts on “Skillet Bierocks Recipe

  1. I googled what these would normally look like and as I suspected, I’m one of those people that has never had a bierock. 😦 They look really good, especially your deconstructed version (I tend to prefer just the filling of things like these). Good job adapting your favorite foods to your lifestyle! 🙂

    • Don’t feel bad, I never had bierocks until I meet my husbands family. I was invited over to dinner and when they told me what we were having, I wondered what “beer rocks” were. Lol.

      • Yeah, I don’t blame you for being confused. The whole state of PA is like Little Deutschland so I’ve definitely seen those before, but I always thought they were another form of pasties. I would’ve gone my whole life believing that. Lol! I learned something today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

