Week 5 Weigh-In

     Today is weigh-in day and my weight has not moved since last week.  I am pretty sure that I know why though.  I have been sick for a week and a half now and have spent the majority of that time laying in bed or on the couch.  I have also been taking NyQuil and Day-quil, which I just found out is high in carbs.  The four doses I have been taking per day leaves me with a carb intake of 76 grams of carbs just from the medicine.  That is crazy!  I had no idea that medicine contained carbs until today when I looked into it because of the lack of weight loss.  I did find a replacement for the NyQuil though, as Contac Severe Cold & Flu contains zero carbs, so I think I will look into getting some.  

     With cold and flu season upon us, it is important to know what is in your medicines so you do not undo your progress.  Don’t fall into the trap that I did thinking medicine doesn’t contain carbs, because a lot of OTC medicines are high in carbs.  Look into your preferred medicine before you become sick so you can plan if you want to take it if you do become sick.  

6 thoughts on “Week 5 Weigh-In

  1. Hi Victoria, sorry to hear that your still under the weather. I can’t recall the name of the multi-symptom medicine, but it’s made for diabetics and is very effective. The Contact brand is also very good. I was also shocked to find out the sugar/carb content of popular medicines. I don’t remember if that was covered in the Atkins book!
    I hope that you feel better soon!

  2. Hey sweetie. I’m sorry to hear that you’re still not feeling well. I can only imagine how difficult this has been for you. 😦 I know that once your health is restored, you’ll be at the top of your game. You should be proud of yourself. You’re still doing the best that you can under your current circumstances. That’s so admirable. I only hope to handle any sickness I may experience, with the same strength that you’re handling yours. Get better soon.

    As for the medicine, thank you for sharing this. I had no idea that NyQuil and DayQuil had so many carbs. For some reason, the thought that medicine would have carbs never occurred to me. I learned something today. Thank you for that.

    • Thanks for the kind words! I wouldn’t have thought medicine had carbs either, but once I looked it up it made sense since they have to make it taste “good.” But you would think that something that is supposed to help you feel well wouldn’t contain a bunch of sugar and other crap.

      • I read your post a while before I commented and when I went to take some ibuprofen, I checked to see what ibuprofen could secretly be hiding.

        As you said, things that are supposed to help us shouldn’t be loaded with sugar and whatnot. I will definitely be looking in the diabetic section first from now on.

        • That is what I will be doing too. Most of the time though I use homeopathic remedies, like essential oils or elderberry syrup, but I had decided against elderberry syrup this time because my recipe calls for a cup of raw honey and I knew that would be a huge amount of carbs. I probably would have been just fine with it since I was taking in carbs with the medicine I have been using.

Leave a Reply

