Week 7 Weigh-In & the Repercussions of a High-Carb Meal

     Today is weigh-in day for me and I am down another 3lbs.  That gives me an overall total of 9lbs!  I am pretty pleased with this week’s loss and looking forward to hopefully getting into two digit numbers next week.  

     About a week into this low-carb journey I noticed that there were some changes taking place other than weight loss, such as my face clearing up.  I have had acne since the age of 9 and at 25 I still struggle with it, but since changing my diet I have noticed that my face is looking much better.  Instead of full-face breakouts, I have only had a few bumps and they cleared up pretty fast.  I attributed this to my change in diet, but I was not absolutely positive that it was these changes that were clearing up my acne.  However, I am now sure.

     Two nights ago, I made my family homemade chicken noodle soup and served it with some crusty bread for dipping.  I decided that I was taking a break from eating healthy so that I could eat some soup and bread too.  Before I was even finished with one bowl of soup, I was feeling nauseous and I had a very sudden, sharp headache.  I used to get this type of headaches close to everyday, especially if I ate very high amounts of sugar that day, but they went away when I started eating low-carb.  

     I didn’t finish my bowl of soup, deciding it was better not to make things worse, but within an hour I had horrible heartburn.  I hadn’t even realized when I started eating low-carb that my heartburn problems had gone away, but once it came back and I went searching for the Tums I realized that I had not needed them in close to two months.  Before changing my diet, I had heartburn every day!  I would go through bottles and bottles of Tums trying to calm it, but it never went away.  

     The biggest surprise that I got after eating this bowl of soup and chunk of bread came the next morning.  I got out of bed and went to wash my face only to find it completely broken out!  My whole face was covered in bumps and red spots, it was not a welcomed sight.

    I am now certain that the change in diet is what caused all of these problems to go away back when I noticed they were gone.  I am also sure that the very high-carb meal that I tried to enjoying was the cause of the problems I dealt with after eating it.  I am amazed at what a change of diet can do for the body and how fast these changes happen, both good and bad, so I think I will continue to refrain from high-carb foods for the foreseeable future.  

4 thoughts on “Week 7 Weigh-In & the Repercussions of a High-Carb Meal

  1. Thank you for this post. I reaffirms that the change to low carb is really a lifestyle change, and one for the better. It also reaffirms what an unhealthy diet can do and how it can manifest itself.

    • You’re right, it is a lifestyle change. I was really surprised how fast “symptoms” of a bad diet showed back up, but it definitely showed me that the changes I have made are good for me.

  2. Okay, I don’t know how this post slipped past me. I’m sorry for not reading it sooner. 😦

    This is such a powerful post. As Rob said, it reaffirms the benefits of a healthy diet. This realization makes it easier for you to continue because now you get to be sure of the positive change it has on you. That’s an amazing feeling. 🙂

    Congratulations on your progress! You’re doing wonderfully! Keep that up. Can’t wait to read about your progress tomorrow.

  3. Pingback: Week 8 Weigh-In | Transforming Me

Leave a comment